3rd Asia-Pacific Workshop on Lithosphere and Mantle Dynamics (2020) & 17th International Workshop on the Frontiers of Computational Geodynamics (1st Announcement)

  • Created: 2019-10-18

Notice: The workshop is postponed to 2021, due to the pandemic of coronavirus. The exact date and relevant information will be posted later.


   Welcome to the 3rd Asia-Pacific Workshop on Lithosphere and Mantle Dynamics! The workshop series usually take place every two years, with the last ones held in Taipei (2016) and Yokohama (2018).

Welcome to the 17th International Workshop on the Frontiers of Computational Geodynamics! The workshop series take place every year from 2004 and are always held in Beijing, by the Key Laboratory of Computational Geodynamics (Chinese Academy of Sciences) and College of Earth and Planetary Sciences (University of Chinese Academy of Sciences).

The joint workshop 2020 will be held in Huairou (Beijing, China), which is co-sponsored by Chinese Academy of Sciences and National Natural Science Foundation of China.

The detailed information is shown below:

(1) Date

June 12-14th, 2020 (Friday to Sunday) for a three-day's workshop (June 11th for the ice-breaker).

(2) Venue

Huairou Campus, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (Beijing). Huairou is a small town in the north of Beijing, at the foot of Yanshan Mountain (about 70km from the city center).

(3) Preliminary Topics

--Subduction initiation dynamics

--Early Earth dynamics

--Dynamics of deep water and carbon cycling

--Tibetan and Tethyan dynamics

--Earthquake dynamics and hazards

--Big data and machine learning in geodynamics

--Global plate reconstruction and dynamic modeling

(4) Scientific Program

The scientific program consists of keynote oral presentations and posters. The oral presentations are limited and by invitation only, in order for in-depth discussion.

All participants can contribute to the 3-day's poster session. All poster presenters can prepare a few PPT-slides for a 2-minute (at most) oral advertisement.

(5) Scientific Committee

Fabio Capitanio (Monash University)

Frederic Deschamps  (Academia Sinica)

Nicolas Flament (University of Wollongong)

Michael Gurnis (California Institute of Technology)

Changyeol Lee (Yonsei University)

Mian Liu ( University of Missouri Columbia)

Takashi Nakagawa (University of Hong Kong)

Yaolin Shi (University of Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Huai Zhang (University of Chinese Academy of Sciences)

(6) Local Organizing Committee

Zhonghai Li (University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, UCAS)

Daoyuan Sun (University of Science and Technology of China)

Yang Li (Institute of Geology and Geophysics, CAS)

Pengpeng Huangfu (UCAS)

Zhen Zhang (UCAS)

Yan Zhang (UCAS)

Chunlin Deng (UCAS)

Yue Chang (UCAS)

(7) Logistics

--We will try to organize shuttle buses for going to Huairou.

--We will cover the meals for all attendees during the workshop.

--The information for abstract submission will be announced later.

--If you are interested and have any questions, please contact <li.zhonghai@ucas.ac.cn>.