In 2002, eight member of Chinese Academy of Sciences (Guangding Liu, Rongsheng Zeng, Zongjin Ma, Yaolin Shi, Yong Chen, Yuntai Chen, Zhenxing Yao, Jiwen Teng) co-signed and submitted a letter to the Ministry of Science and Technology of the People’s Republic of China. They suggested establishing a special research organization aiming at computational geodynamics.


On January 25, 2003, the Ministry of Science and Technology approved and supported the suggestion.


On April 23, 2003, the Laboratory of Computational Geodynamics (LCG) was founded jointly by Graduate University of Chinese Academy of Sciences and Beijing University. Academician Yaolin Shi was the first director, Professors Yongshun Chen and Mian Liu were vice-directors; Professor Yuantai Chen was the Chairman of Scientific Committee, Houze Xu and An Yin were the vice-Chairmen.  


On December 30, the laboratory was approved to be a key laboratory, i.e., Key Laboratory of Computational Geodynamics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. Wenke Sun is the director, Wenbo Zhang and Huai Zhang are the vice-directors; Yaolin Shi is the Chairman of the Scientific Committee. The total member is 32.